Workout Classes in Cordoba

4 different classes, 4 totally different experiences

  1. Spinning
  2. Pole Dancing
  3. Pilates
  4. Tae Kwon Do

Spinning

IMG_7741

As you probably know, based on a previous post, my Spanish is basically limited to foods and maaaybe some basic greetings. So the thought of going to the gym alone and having to explain that I’m there and already paid for the class by signing up through ClickyPass was just a tad bit daunting.

What happened: I walked in and said “ClickyPass?” while showing the screenshot I took of my confirmation. Waited like an awko-taco (my roomie taught me this) to see where I was supposed to go, and ended up following a girl to the spin room. Music started booming and you already read what went down.

How I felt about it: 60 minutes flew by without the urge to constantly look at the clock, and I was already excited for the next class, whatever it might be. My favorite part was our teacher’s expressive lip syncing to Maroon 5. She was so fun and would have become one of my best friends, if I was staying in Cordoba for another week.

Would I do it again? ABsolutely! Or more like QUADruple times over, yes!

IMG_7743 IMG_7744

 

Pole Dancing

IMG_7758

One of the girls from my Remote Year group organized a pole class for a few of us. Now, I’ve done wine and pole in the past with my friend from LA, who taught me the basics, so I was curious to see how the techniques and moves would differ or be the same.

What happened: Got off to a slow start because the receptionist didn’t really know about the ClickyPass. Thank goodness one of the girls from my group spoke a little Spanish and was able to clear up the confusion. Grabbed mini crash mats that were cut for each pole and claimed our individual poles. Started with some stretching and warmup that was just a little less than intense. Got on the pole and practiced a total of 2 moves.

How I felt about it: There isn’t much structure and focus on technique compared to what I’m used to. BUT our teacher definitely challenged me to do something that was beyond my comfort zone, and I was able to successfully go upside down!

Would I do it again? Yes, but definitely not before any special occasion that would require my arms or legs to be exposed and pretty. Bruises lined my limbs — not cute.

IMG_7866 IMG_7874 IMG_7876 IMG_7861 IMG_7857

 

Pilates

I was looking for a late night workout that would not require shoes, as I didn’t bring running shoes with me.

What happened: Met up with one of my other Remote Year friends on the way, and arrived at location. It appeared to be the gym of an apartment? Kinda sketch. We walked in anyways, went down the stairs and realized it was pretty much someone’s basement with some random gym equipment. Started on the pilates machines…and basically never got beyond starting. Every exercise seemed like it was a warm-up for the real thing, but the warm-up never ended up happening. And then we sat there, leaning forward with our foreheads on a mat and rested for what seemed like 30 minutes. Still we finished 15 minutes before the hour.

How I felt about it: We really didn’t do much of a workout at all. I was disappointed by the fact that there wasn’t any real exercise happening, and we spent the majority of the time sleeping…at least, I fell asleep. #zen

Would I do it again? Umm, probably not. I didn’t really get much out of it, and would opt for something more explosive / active.

 

Tae Kwon Do

IMG_7993

This may come as a surprise, but I was once a 2nd degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do and even an assistant instructor (photographical evidence). I stopped when I was 18, so it’s been a while since I’ve practiced. However, I knew it’d be a sweaty full-body blast of a workout, so thought it’d be perfect right before the 10-hour bus ride I’d be going on the next day.

What happened: Walked in with more confidence regarding letting the receptionist know I’m there for a class through ClickyPass. Proceeded to the middle of the gym where I saw a guy wearing the Dobok and figured he was probably the teacher since he was the only one there. Private class? Turns out he was just a student and the teacher arrived shortly after, along with a few other classmates. We started with the lineup that I had completely forgotten how to do, an oath in Spanish that I did not understand, and then some stretches that I was not familiar with. The great thing about Tae Kwon Do is that it’s very “Monkey-see, monkey-d0” so no problem there. After warm-ups and kicking drills, I was breathing harder than that time I almost drowned. Clearly, cardio had been VERY absent from my life. We went through some kicking practice with the targets (I forgot what it’s like to get hit), and then ended with no-contact sparring. I had to sit out on that one because I landed incorrectly and hurt my knee while doing a 360 flying sidekick.

How I felt about it: GREAT workout!! Exactly what I was looking for. The people in this class were SO extremely friendly. Basically treated me like family and said I was welcome anytime. Very dynamic exercise, and intense…very intense.

Would I do it again? For sure!! Well…once my knee gets better. It was definitely a fun way to get a full-body workout.

IMG_8004  IMG_8010

 

Keep in mind:

  1. Check availability ahead of time – my spin class wouldn’t have happened if we had less than 5 in the class, but others can’t capacitate more than 4, like my pilates class.
  2. Bring ID – they check and it’s imperative!
  3. If you want to cancel, it has to be 4 hours prior to your start time.
  4. I’d recommend taking a screenshot of your reservation on your phone to show the desk if you don’t speak Spanish.
  5. Try everything!!!

 

Excited to try more in Buenos Aires!

I want to hear from you!

